My birthday is coming up.

My birthday is coming up and, since I've been living with my boyfriend – who had stopped celebrating his birthday long ago – I feel kind of silly trying to support this idea that it's a special day.

But I don't care.

So I made some requests. Chocolatine (pain au chocolat for the rest of the world, I guess) for breakfast and tiramisù as dessert/birthday cake. I want to reinstate this tradition. My grandma used to make us tiramisù for every birthday. Even when she moved to a village in the mountains, she would come to the “city” for our birthdays with a big tray of tiramisù. Two years ago, for the first time, I had a piece of tiramisù as a birthday cake since my grandma died (in Florence, in a fancy restaurant). Last year, during Italy's lockdown, my dad me an amazing tiramisù with a surprise. Well, he had actually finished the savoiardi biscuits, so he used one random biscuit to complete his work. We decided that, whoever found the biscuit, they would be the lucky one (very “galette des rois”). I found it!

This year, I really wanted to be back by my family for my birthday, but it won't be the case. My dad will not be making me a tiramisù (maybe when I'll come to visit, as a belated birthday present, I hope). We'll be going around the city to look for the best tiramisù in Toulouse!