Qiu Jin.

I'm in the process of choosing the next female poet for my series but I'm pretty sure I'll choose Chinese poet Qiu Jin (1875-1912).

As Sor Juana, she has quite an interesting life story and her work is deeply rooted in a feminist vision.

My choice further on – although I recognize the political choice I made when deciding on focusing on only female poets – will not be determined by the political implication of the chosen poet. Being a feminist, or having a feminist framework, is not what I look for when choosing my subject.

I leave you with this poem as translated from the Chinese by Yilin Wang.

Reflections

written during travels in Japan

The sun and moon without light. Sky and earth in darkness. Who can uplift the sinking world of women? I pawned my jewels to sail across the open seas, parting from my children as I left the border at Jade Gate. Unbinding my feet to pour out a millennium’s poisons, I arouse the spirit of women, hundreds of flowers, abloom. Oh, this poor handkerchief made of merfolk-woven silk, half stained with blood and half soaked in tears.